Bittersweet Turkeys

I’m back home from a Thanksgiving visit with my family, stuffed to the gills with both turkey and angst, which is typical of any post-holiday visit with Those People To Whom I Am Related. I’m sure you all understand.

The visit itself was perfectly fine, and many parts were amazing. Specifically, my little sister broke the news that she and her hubby are expecting their first child! I’m going to be an uncle, folks. Wow… that poor kid! I can’t wait to corrupt him or her with multiple viewings of twisted horror films. All love and success to Sis and her awesome husband; I wish I could see them more often than I do.

In other happy news, I caught a screening of Beowulf in 3D, and holy crap, this just might be the best-looking movie of all time. In 3D it’s truly an experience, and story-wise I enjoyed it much more than 300 (which admittedly isn’t saying much). Yes, huge chunks of it were silly, but the characterizations were consistently intriguing, especially some of the supporting players… even if Beowulf himself remains little more than a macho shirtless guy who screams a lot. A good film, and a great technical achievement, but it’s a hair shy of being truly great. I give it 7.5 out of 10, but knock off a point and a half if you’re not watching the 3D version.

My Mom also gave me my Christmas present early, since she won’t see me again this year. I’m happy to report that I am now the proud owner of the amazing five-DVD box set The Movies Begin: A Treasury of Early Cinema, 1894-1913, from Kino Video. I’ll discuss this excellent package in great depth on the blog soon. Suffice it to say it’s been one of my most-wanted DVD sets for over a year, and I’m over the moon to finally have a copy.

-CSJ

Leave a Reply

