Goodbye, VHS!

It’s been a busy week. For those of you who haven’t heard, we completed post-production for the Extra Extra pilot on Saturday, November 2nd. It’s DONE, folks! It’s a bittersweet feeling for me. Although there were days when I felt like I was drowning in the project, I loved working on it, and I’m sad we’re finished. Of course, maybe we’ll get picked up and we can do the show full-time. No complaints here!

I still have to cut another three minutes from the version we send to Buck Productions, but I’m going to wait until after the premiere. I’d like the chance to watch the pilot with an audience, to see if there are any obvious dead spots which would be improved by some strategic chopping.

Several of you have contacted me recently to inquire about Cinemaslave #100. Yes, it’s still in the works. Just let us get moved into our new place, and I promise, show #100 will become my biggest priority in life.

Amy and I spent the weekend packing for the move — pulling long-forgotten crap out of our various closets, sorting through boxes, carrying things to the dumpster, moving the stuff we want to keep into temporary storage, and just generally regretting the decision to buy a house. (HA! Just kidding on the last one, but I *really* wish we could afford to hire movers. This is NO FUN… I’m sore and cranky today. But it *is* satisfying on some level to actually get rid of a bunch of useless items that we’ve been clinging onto for the past seven years.)

I chucked about 300 video tapes over the course of the weekend… mostly movies I’ve long since re-bought on DVD, or simply have no desire to ever watch again. Since just about everything is available on DVD at this point, I know I can always get a film from Netflix if I feel so inclined to re-watch it. So no need to have that old VHS copy of The Brady Bunch Movie sitting on my shelf from now until the end of time.

And hey, during my box-sorting adventures, I found the manuscript for an aborted mystery novel I began back in 1998, which I thought had been lost forever! I churned out nearly 200 pages before giving up in disgust. I’ll have to re-read it and see if it’s salvagable. Most likely I’ll conclude that it should have stayed lost forever, but maybe it’s not as wretched as I presume it to be. Now, if only a copy of my screenplay Daring the Mountain would turn up. (This is my “lost” script, which I discussed on the Cinemaslave Premium episode.)

A local radio station is interviewing the Extra Extra cast, along with Michael and me, tonight; the interview will air Thursday morning. I’ll try to make an MP3 version available to anyone who wants to hear it. This Wednesday we’re doing a private “pre-screening” of the pilot episode at Endless Mountain theater, just to make sure everything plays correctly on their equipment. It’s nice of them to allow us to do this, to help guarantee that Sunday’s premiere (which we expect to be packed) goes as smoothly as possible.

-CSJ

Leave a Reply

