Pilot update

Much to my great surprise, the rewrite of the pilot script is becoming a far more involved job than I originally anticipated. I liked Michael’s first draft very much, but I keep coming up with new ideas and story tweaks as I’m polishing the dialogue. So I put in these new scenes, which then forces me to rewrite earlier bits, to ensure no gaps in story continuity. It’s a house of cards, it is.

But I’m really pleased with the way it’s shaping up, and hope to be able to tell you a little more about the project in the near future. I intend to finish the rewrite by Friday, if not sooner. I have to hand my draft over to Michael on Sunday, since I’ll be at the Blobfest b-movie convention in Phoenixville, PA on Saturday, so time is running out. If anyone else is planning to attend the con, let me know — maybe we can arrange a meet-up.

Those of you who listen to my podcast may wonder when I’m going to get a new episode out. Well, to be quite honest, I’m wondering the same thing. My beloved Apple iBook bit the dust a couple of weeks ago, and I had to send it back for repair. It came back yesterday, with the power problem fixed but the audio still not working. So it’s on the way back to Apple (again) as I write these words. It’s quite frustrating. I’m currently able to access the Internet through a borrowed machine, but I don’t have all my audio software installed, so no podcasting for now.

Mac woes aside, I’m in a much happier place now than I’ve been for the past couple of weeks. The pilot script is coming along nicely, I’ve got ideas for two new feature-length scripts that I’m itching to start working on, and to top it all off, I know what my next short film will be. I’ve got it all in my head; I just need to write it down, which shouldn’t take more than three or four pages. And I’ve got to find two male actors who’ll give me a few hours of their time. I oughta be able to swing that.

I haven’t mentioned this to anyone yet, but I’ve also been carrying an idea for a documentary film around with me for a month or so. Last week I approached someone crucial to getting this project off the ground, and he was very receptive to the idea of participating in the film. We were supposed to meet to talk about it this week, but then the pilot script came along, and everything else has taken a back seat for the time being. Once I get through this flurry of activity, we’re going to sit down and discuss the possibility of moving forward with the documentary.

It’s very refreshing to have a *lot* of filmmaking activity going on at once. Having had one previous screenplay optioned but never made, it’s nice to be working on some projects that are actually moving forward.

-CSJ

Leave a Reply

